[Book List]  

PLEASE NOTE: All bidding for the auction currently underway
at our new website at www.virtualjudaica.com/

Bidding Information
Lot #    8328
Auction End Date    10/19/2004 11:35:00 AM (mm/dd/yyyy)
Title Information
Title (English)    Document with 18 Signatures of Participants
Title (Hebrew)    XII Zionist Congress
Author    [Ms. - Zionism]
City    Carlsbad (Karlovy Vary)
Publication Date    1921
Collection Information
Independent Item    This listing is an independent item not part of any collection
Description Information
   [1] p., 220:157 mm., ink on paper, light age staining.
   Contains the signatures of the following Congress participants:

1. R kirhtheim?

2. Leo (Aryeh Leib) Motzkin ( 18671933), Zionist leader and protagonist of the struggle for Jewish rights in the Diaspora.

3. Abraham Menachem Mendel Ussishkin - (18631941), Zionist leader, member of Hovevei Zion, and the president of the Jewish National Fund (JNF).

4. Ofecottuy?

5. Chaim Weitzman - (18741952), first president of the State of Israel, president of the (World) Zionist Organization (192031 and 193546), and distinguished scientist.

6. David Yellin - (18641941), was a distinguished teacher, writer, scholar, and one of the leaders of the yishuv.

7. Julius Simon - (18751969), Zionist leader and economist. Simon was born in Mannheim, Germany, but was an American citizen because his father had participated in the American Civil War.

8. Berthold Feiwel - (18751937), Zionist leader and poet. Born in Pohrlitz, Moravia, Feiwel began his higher education in Brno, where he founded the Zionist student organization Veritas.

9. Adolf Boehm of Vienna, historian of the Zionist movement, and editor of Der Zionistisher Bavegung, perished in the Holocaust.

10. Dr. M. Soloveichiker?

11. Richard Beer-Hofmann - (18661945), Austrian poet and playwright. The son of a Moravian lawyer, Beer-Hofmann was adopted by his uncle, the Viennese industrialist Alois Hofmann.

12. Hermann (Chaim Aharon) Struck - (18761944), graphic artist. Struck, born into an Orthodox Berlin family, studied at the Berlin Academy under Max Koner, where Hans Meyer introduced him to the art of etching.

13. Joseph Cowen - (18681932), a founder and leader of the Zionist movement in Great Britain.

14. Montague David Eder - (18651936), Zionist leader, psychoanalyst, and physician.

15. Vladimir (Zev) Jabotinsky - (18801940), Zionist activist, soldier, orator, writer and poet; founder of the Jewish Legion during World War I.

16. Chaim Nucham Bialik - (18731934), the greatest Hebrew poet of modern times, essayist, storywriter, translator, and editor, who exercised a profound influence on modern Jewish culture.

17. Osias (Jehoshua) Thon - (18701936), rabbi, early Zionist, and Polish Jewish leader.

18. Yitchok Gruenbaum (18791970), leader of the radical faction in General Zionism, one of the main spokesmen of Polish Jewry between the two world wars, and the first minister of the interior of the State of Israel.

Paragraph 2    The Twelfth Congress was the first Congress after World War I. It was held in Carlsbad on Sept. 114, 1921, after the following crucial events had taken place: the Balfour Declaration, the British conquest of Palestine, the Bolshevik Revolution in Russia, mass pogroms against Ukrainian Jews, and the London Zionist Conference (1920).
Associated Images
1 Image (Click thumbnail to view full size image):
  Order   Image   Caption
  1   Click to view full size  
Listing Classification
20th Century:    Checked
Other:    Czechoslovakia
History:    Checked
Other:    Zionism
Manuscript Type
Letters:    Checked
Kind of Judaica